2023 ISIF Asia award winners announced

By on 17 Oct 2023

Categories: Community Development

Tags: , , ,

Blog home

The 2023 Information Society Innovation Fund (ISIF Asia) awards were announced at the 2023 Internet Governance Forum (IGF) in Kyoto on 9 October 2023. They were awarded to three exceptional contributions to the advancement of Internet Exchange Points (IXPs) in the Asia Pacific region.

Each award included USD 5,000 as well as a travel grant to join the IGF.

The three awardees are:

  • The Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) for their work on software-defined IXPs. The award was accepted by project lead Zartash Afzal Uzmi.
  • The Myanmar Internet Exchange (MMIX) for their work setting up the first IXP in Myanmar — the award was accepted by project lead Thein Myint Khine.
Figure 1 — Pictured left to right is award winner Dr Zartash Ufzal Uzmi (LUMS), APNIC Director General Paul Wilson, Foundation CEO Sylvia Cadena, fellow award winners Thein Myint Khein (MMIX) and Dr Ling Teck Chaw (University of Malaysia), and APNIC Foundation board member Jun Murai (president of the WIDE Research institute).

For more information and to see the awardee project videos, visit the APNIC Foundation site.

Rate this article

The views expressed by the authors of this blog are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of APNIC. Please note a Code of Conduct applies to this blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *